Zambezi Grande

Glossy five-star lodge · Chiawa GMA, near the Royal aerodrome · Family owned

High-end Outside the gate Owner/family-run

Considerably glossier than the classic tented camps, with a design language closer to a resort than a bush camp. It sits in the game management area near the airstrip, so access is easy and no park fee applies unless you cross into the park.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • The most polished five-star finish in the game management area
  • Rate includes two safari activities a day and camp fishing gear
  • More than 400 bird species recorded on site
  • Royal Aerodrome transfers included in the rate
  • A private game experience on its own stretch of riverfront

Cons

  • Closed from 1 December to 31 March each year
  • Children under 12 are not accepted
  • Self-drive access not stated; transfers are via Royal Aerodrome
  • Only 10 rooms, so it books out at busy times

What's here

Arranged from the lodge:

  • Fishing

Read from Zambezi Grande's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.

What the park charges on top

The rate above buys you a bed. Lower Zambezi National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.

Park entry$25 if you are with a licensed operator instead of self-driving.
$30per person, per day
VehicleUnder 3 tonnes, foreign registered.
$15per vehicle, per day

Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $225 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.

Camps inside the park bundle a bed-night levy and community fee on top, which together run $85 to $120 per person per night. That is the number that lands on your invoice, not the gate fee.

The full fee schedule for Lower Zambezi National Park

Rates at Zambezi Grande

From about $800 pppn. Rooms around $800 to $950 and suites around $1,100 to $1,390. The source does not state which year these rates are for, so treat them as indicative.

What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.

Every figure on this page is in US dollars.

Indicative 2026 rates from operators' own rate cards, gathered July 2026. Always confirm with the lodge. Two things shift the real comparison here. First, camps inside the park add $85 to $120 per person per night in bundled park and conservation fees, and most quote that separately. Second, camps in the Chiawa game management area carry no national park entry fee at all unless you cross into the park, which is why a GMA bed can work out far cheaper than the headline rate suggests.

Official website ↗

Questions about Zambezi Grande

When is Zambezi Grande open?

Zambezi Grande is open from 1 April to 30 November and closed from 1 December to 31 March. Confirm current dates before booking, since closures in this valley can shift slightly from year to year.

What does the rate at Zambezi Grande include?

The rate covers accommodation, meals, standard beverages, two safari activities a day, use of the camp's angling equipment and Royal Aerodrome transfers. The lodge does not break the figure down by room type on its own page; outside sources put rooms at roughly $800 to $950 and suites at $1,100 to $1,390, though the year those cover is unclear, so confirm directly.

Is Zambezi Grande good for birding?

Yes. The lodge's own site states more than 400 bird species have been recorded here, which is unusually strong published birding content for this valley. Activities also include tiger fishing, game drives, island dinners, sundowners and bush lunches.

Is Zambezi Grande good for families?

Zambezi Grande's own rates page sets a minimum age of 12, with discounted rates for children in Luxury Rooms. It has 10 rooms across two categories, Superior Suites and standard rooms, and sits in the game management area, so no national park fee applies unless you cross into the park.

A safari guide by the river
A guide beside a game-drive vehicle at an airstrip

Your enquiry goes to a safari specialist

Reply usually within a day or two

They check availability and rates with Zambezi Grande and reply to you directly.

  • No booking fee
  • Reply usually within a day or two
  • Nothing booked until you say so

Ask about dates and rates at Zambezi Grande

From about $800 pppn

Free, no obligation

Step 1 of 5. What are you looking for?

Pick any that fit.

Prefer to book yourself? It is also on Booking.com ↗.